Green Juice: Is it worth the hype?

Ok, so I know Green juices are the new thing. Especially where I live in Vancouver British Columbia. Vancouverites are known for being “health obsessed” to put it lightly and are often caught with a green juice in one hand and a water bottle in the other. Juices in general are described as nutrient dense elixirs that we can drink to increase our daily vitamin intake, decrease inflammation is some cases, aid in digestion and revitalize us after a long busy day or week.

Juicing cleanses and diets have actually been around for centuries, However the millennia’s have taken health awareness to a new level. Everything now has kale in it, including select items from McDonalds of all places. So the question is: Are these juices worth the hype or the money?

The average cold pressed juice varies in price and size. As an example here are a few vancouver juice places that I frequent price ranges:

 

Glory Juice Company: 473 ml bottle will run you 10.95, my fave is the number 3.

Anchor Eatery: 16 ounces (473 ml) will run you 6.99, my fave is green machine.

Buddah-ful Café:  16 ounces (473 ml) will run you 10.00 even, my fave is Ganesha’s Green’s.

 

I have tried a lot of other juices but these three in specific I have repurchased over 5 times each so I can go ahead and say they are good. Keep in mind that  there are vast price differences for the same claim to fame. Also keep in mind the first place is walking distance from my work and the other two are on the north shore. This is about half an hour from my place but really close to my friends place. Long story short I obviously would chose the cheaper one more often if it were nearer by.

Back to the party line here, are they worth the hype? Well the question is really up for debate, let’s do a benefits/cons list.

Benefits:

Placebo: It makes me feel good. When I drink a green juice I feel like I am helping myself, doing something nice to my body and that is something I don’t take lightly.

Nutrients: If you actually get a green juice, the like #1 at Glory that is mainly vegetable base, you are drinking vitamins. You are drinking the calcium  and the iron from the spinach if you get a spinach based juice and this is good for you.

Cons:

The price tag: okay let’s be real, who has 10.95 to spare ? I know I don’t. 6.99 okay maybe sometimes, but the average place is approximately 10.00 a juice and I mean that’s a lot more than I have to spare.

Fiber: Ok so yes juice is delicious and nutrient dense, However when you Juice the fruit and vegetables you are actually extracting all of the fiber. Fiber is actually an essential part of a balanced diet and can be extremely beneficial in digestion. I find if you are needing a meal in-between snack to hold you over, I highly suggest a green smoothie instead. A lot of these places I listed also sell smoothies and yes they are pricier but they are also packed with more fruits and vegetables as well as things like nut butters which help for your daily protein intake.

Take away message: Although they taste amazing and can really provide a perspective make over green juices are kind of pricey and not a daily affordable supplement.

 

Until next time

-Hannah

Author: yngrestlessblog

These are always a bit cheesy, so I may as well just go with it. My name is Hannah, Im twenty three years old and my passion is health and nutrition. I have struggled with my health my whole life, and have been recently diagnosed with SIBO (small intestine bacterial overgrowth) as well as Celiacs disease, and also recently discovered I was lactose intolerant. I am building this online blog to document my journey through better health focusing on a plant based diet. I also am a student in my third year of my BSc. and a person trying to find her way in life, and have a lot of various interest's from science to fashion to recipes to exercise, and really just wanted to build an online community where I could share my passions and health journey. Hopefully some of what I am working towards can help clear up some of your health questions or concerns, and we can talk about it in an open, judgement free place. Please feel free to contact me with any questions, I look forward to hearing from you. -Hannah

Leave a Reply

